A review, a review…my kingdom for a review!

When I started this blog I intended it to cover the progress from writing to getting published, warts and all.  To be honest, the launch of ‘Flight Into Darkness’ as an eBook has not been a massive success and the reason for this is clear; I thought that simply getting the presentation right and making it known that the book was out there would generate sales in a kind-of passive way.  Wrong.  Any marketing person can tell you that a good product can still fail if it’s not marketed properly and this means active marketing.  Passivity doesn’t work.

So, I have decided to take Tony Slater’s advice and have a formal Facebook/Twitter/LinkedIn launch party and this will require my full attention for quite a while.  Because I am about to start my CELTA teacher training course next week, this will swamp me for the whole of September and there will be little time for anything else.  We move house in October to add to the confusion so the launch party won’t be until the end of October.  Between now and then I need REVIEWS that I can use for my marketing!  Please!  They should ideally be left on Amazon on the webpage for Flight Into Darkness:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Flight-Into-Darkness-ebook/dp/B008YFC9HK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1345178103&sr=8-2 for the UK, http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008YFC9HK for most of the world, and http://www.amazon.de/Flight-Into-Darkness-ebook/dp/B008YFC9HK/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1346318081&sr=1-1-catcorr for Germany.

I can’t emphasise enough the need for reviews, good or bad.

The idea of the launch party is to get as many people as possible to download the book at about the same time.  This will, hopefully, put it into Amazon’s top 10 list for the day or week, then people who have never heard of me may also download and start a chain reaction.  Then come more reviews which can be tweeted, etc.  I’m sure it will be more difficult and time-consuming than I had expected but that’s what marketing is all about.  It is now increasingly clear that the writing was the easy bit!

So, whilst the CELTA course is in progress, this blog will  probably go quiet for 4 weeks.  In the meantime,  there is time for people  to read the book and leave reviews which I can use later.

I came across this article on Tweeting:  http://www.indieauthornews.com/2012/07/twitter-tips-for-authors.html.  Interesting reading and a good summary.

2 Responses to A review, a review…my kingdom for a review!

  1. Daisydow says:

    I have to agree that writing was the easy bit Roger. Our books do need people to review so that it stays active. The more people you can get to review the higher up the book stays. My little book is still selling a few copies. writing a popular genre helps too. And having articles in magazines. I am going to have to do that kind of work this month. when do we write the next novel?

  2. rogerjhardy says:

    I’m planning a little launch party when I get the time. At present CELTA is swamping my time….maybe next month. As for the next book, I’m still looking for inspiration. Maybe CELTA will provide it…..

Leave a Reply

