We’re drowning in Indie eBooks…great!

For those interested in going the self-publishing eBook (‘Indie’) route, this is an interesting and informed article:  http://www.forbes.com/sites/davidvinjamuri/2012/08/15/publishing-is-broken-were-drowning-in-indie-books-and-thats-a-good-thing/

Speaking personally, I resent the accusations that most self-published eBooks are badly written, although I have to admit that I was reading one by quite a respected American writer and had to stop at Page 50 because of formatting and grammatical errors that made it irritating and difficult to read.  That’s just careless because it’s actually a good story, he’s a good writer and it’s not difficult to get it right.

Anyway to get back to the point.  Traditional publishing is experiencing a revolution and they don’t know how to deal with it.  They are retreating and becoming defensive. Literary agents are becoming increasingly selective and risk-averse.  Publishing houses are seeing slashed revenues and bookshoops are closing.  However, the very best writers will still get published but I’m well-read and realistic enough to know that I’m not ‘one of the best’.    Plus, I’m unpublished which makes life even more difficult in a difficult and deeply conservative business.

Now, I want to emphasise the point that most of us are conscientious middle-rankers who want to write good stuff and have other people read it.  If we can make some money, that’s all well-and-good but that’s not really what it’s all about.  My novels have all gone through several drafts and have all been professionally edited at significant expense.  I’ve read them again and again and eliminated typos, formatting and grammar errors.  It takes months.  When I publish something, I want to be proud of it and it therefore has to be as good as I can make it.  It takes blood, sweat and tears, masses of time and oodles of devotion.

So, we may be drowning in Indie books but I still believe that the good ones will emerge, the bad ones will submerge.  I wonder in which category Flight Into Darkness http://www.amazon.co.uk/Flight-Into-Darkness-ebook/dp/B008YFC9HK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1345178103&sr=8-2 will eventually end up?

Leave a Reply

