Twitter advice from a good twit

My editor, Debi Alper is pretty active on Twitter and I am a newbie.  As this blog is intended to be a kind-of one-stop advice centre for self-publishing writers, I thought it would be useful to others to read her advice:

Roger – setting up a Twitter a/c is just the first step. You have to be tweeting … a lot! That means engaging, not just promoting. Received wisdom is that the ratio of ‘other stuff’ to promo should be about 90:10, otherwise people get put off very quickly and you can do more harm than good. Also, with Twitter, tweets slide off the screen very quickly so you can’t assume a couple of tweets a day is going to launch you into Twitter stardom. And the more people someone follows, the less likely it is that they’ll be online at the right time to see your tweets. For example, I can’t ever remember seeing a tweet from you!

I’ve just checked your Twitter a/c. You’re only following 54 people and have only 24 followers. If you read Nicola Morgan’s Tweet Right, you’ll know you’ve barely begun to wring the potential from Twitter. As I’ve said before, it takes time and energy. The good news is that it’s exponential so, after a while, you don’t have to be so proactive in following others in the hope they’ll follow you back. But … sigh … there are no shortcuts.

Ah, me.  I suppose I have to tell the world what I had for dinner and about my cold sore.  Yes, a cold sore.  I get them when I’m stressed out.  Herpes simplex, I think it’s called.  So far, that is the most visible result of my fab marketing campaign.  Seriously, though, Twitter is a great resource and a single tweet from Debi (or other well-connected worthy) can result in a flurry of visits to your website/blog.  I just need them to go to the Amazon kindle store now!

 

One Response to Twitter advice from a good twit

  1. Hi Roger! Thanks for all your great advice – I’m following in your footsteps – all set for big launch date 01/09/12…x

Leave a Reply

