What is marketing?

I am now embarking on the next stage of the eBook, that is, trying to get people to read it because an unread book is as much use as a chocolate teapot.  Now, I am a virgin at this business but promised that this blog would cover everything from writing to publication and beyond, so here goes.

Marketing is bringing your product to the attention of potential customers and this hopefully, leads to sales.  Targetted advertising is the way this is usually done but that requires big bucks which I don’t have.  So, we’re left with social networking sites, Twitter, Facebook, The Word Cloud (UK writers’ Facebook), website, blog, all linked together.   Of these, Twitter is probably the best for getting maximum coverage except that Twitter protocol says that blatant self-promotion can be irritating.  Point taken, but I cannot think of any suitable alternative right now and I’m doing it on my own, so I apologise if anyone gets piqued.

Assuming that you attract a little attention, the objective has to be word-of-mouth (think Fifty Shades of Grey or the Da Vinci Code).  This is outside the individual’s control but, if the product has any merit, then people will talk about it, recommend it to others and so the net is flung wider.  If those people do it on Twitter, then the process happens faster; the beauty of Twitter is its power combined with simplicity.  Word-of-mouth is ideally supported by reviews.  The idea is to encourage people to read the book and leave a review and Amazon is ideal for this as they often prompt customers to leave reviews a few weeks after purchase.  Good reviews lead to more sales which lead to more reviews which lead to more sales.  However, it is very difficult to get people to do this but there’s no point agonising over it because there is nothing we can do about it.  As a matter of course, I now leave a review on Amazon for every book I read.

I’ve avoided a big launch party because I don’t know how to do it and also because I’m not sure that they are time-effective.  In addition, I think that marketing should be a sustained activity, more marathon than sprint.  I’m not expecting quick results but will hope to have made some kind of impression within six months.  This may require occasional prompts and suchlike but nothing too heavy.

So that’s it.  There have been a lot of downloads of my eBooks from the website.  Flight Into Darkness is now only available from Amazon, so the process has started.  I’ll let you know how I get on.

Oh, and by-the-way, fancy doing a review?

6 Responses to What is marketing?

  1. Brian Berry says:

    I certainly admire your resolve and effort Roger. You don’t do things by half measures. Effort is sometimes rewarded, lack of effort never is. I’m sure someone famous said that, if they did not they should have done.

    I am reading Flight Into Darkness and am both entertained and impressed. I promise a review.

    Best regards.

    Brian.

  2. rogerjhardy says:

    Yes, I think it was Brian Berry who famously said it! Are you reviewing the PDF or Kindle version? If you fancy it, you can download Kindle for PC for free; it’s easier than reading PDF.

    • Brian Berry says:

      I am reading the PDF version but I have managed to split the screen into two pages which makes it easier for this old book addict to read. I will,however,download the Kindle to see the difference.
      Brian.

  3. facebook fun says:

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming
    having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not
    100% certain. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

    • Anonymous says:

      Actually, it’s free. Go to WordPress (the one I use) and follow the instructions! They give you formats and all you have to do is add the text and any personalised bits, like a banner (although they have these as well). You should be up and running within an hour. Go for it and good luck!

  4. Anonymous says:

    actually, I’m not anonymous…I’m Roger but forgot to log in!

Leave a Reply

