The new cover

Designing good covers for books is a distinct art form, I’ve discovered.  I’ve been an artist in a previous life and thought I could do it myself but the simple fact is that I can’t.  When I look at the work produced by the professionals, they make my paltry efforts look totally pedestrian.  I chose Robin Lustig http://www.gobookcoverdesign.com/ because I liked the visual impact of her work (she’s a female robin not a cockrobin).  Here’s the process:

1.  Email her and she’ll come back with the Ts and Cs and ask you to give him a synopsis of your book and any ideas that you may have for a cover.

2.  She then takes your ideas, throws them in the bin and comes up with her own.  It’s at this point that you realise that covers have to be designed by a professional.  In my case she gave me a couple of choices and they  look good.  I selected one.

3.  Robin sends you the links to the pictures that make up his mockup.  They are at Dreamstime, http://www.dreamstime.com/.  You have to pay for the images but they’re not expensive.  Mine cost about $40 for three.  You download them in large format, royalty-free.  The files are around 5MB.

4.  Send them to her as email attachments or you can use Dropbox (http://db.tt/psAirBA).

5.  She won’t do any more work until you have paid a deposit of $80 and I did this by phone (or you can use PayPal).  The cover may be done within this cost (he charges $80/hour) but any additional work is charged an the basis of 15 minute chunks.  Normal cost is $80-120 per cover.

6.  She then produces the covers and this takes around 5-7 working days.  I’ll post them when they arrive.  Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

