It’s all happening in Carvoeiro……

 

I am a writer……no, that’s not like an actor who happens to work at MacDonalds temporarily……but I really am a writer…… look, I’m writing now.  The trouble with writing novels is that you want to get published and that’s not the easiest thing in the world right now.  So, here we are. 

First a bit about me.  I’m a British Eurocrat living near Cologne but my heart lives in Portugal where I have a little business (www.casaluiz.com) with my Portuguese partner, Luis.  That country has inspired my first novel ‘Miracle in Carvoeiro’ and its sequel ‘The Eye of Sayf-Udeen’.    I have self-published ‘Miracle’ on Lulu (see http://stores.lulu.com/carvoeiro) while I try to find a real publisher. 

The book is available from Lulu (a bit expensive) or the Algarve Book Cellar in Carvoeiro (much more reasonable at a mere 10,50€) and has been well received…..or maybe everyone’s being very polite.  It’s an affectionate view of village life involving, naturally, sex, drugs, rock-and-roll, though not so much of the latter…….

For those of you that don’t know Carvoeiro, it is a fishing village in the Algarve where fishing no longer takes place.  It has everything essential to village life; testosterone-fuelled police, eight-five restaurants, illegal Brazilians and an ex-beauty queen who wants to open a sex shop.  It also has a crippled old woman and a girl who has been touched by God.  So there you have it; a light novel on a number of levels from the divine to the ridiculous.  All good clean fun!

The reason I set up this blog is to start a forum for people to comment on the book (and sequels) plus maybe enter into some correspondence with like-minded people who want to discuss writing, finding publishers, all that stuff.  So please….I’d love to get some feedback on the book…..good or bad…..

Roger

7 Responses to It’s all happening in Carvoeiro……

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. beverley hitchcott says:

    I have just come back from 5 nights in this beautiful place with my friend Anita.We both wanted a chill with a good book. She decided to read a bool on her kindle that she had read before. She told me about it. It was your first novel. Each day we would ho for a walk up the hill and along the boardwalk. After doing this for 3 days I stopped outside your apartments and said just a minute, she said what are you doing?. I went up the steps took one of your cards rang your bell and asked you how much to rent one of your apartments. I went back to Anita she said what have you got?. So I showed her your card “oh my god that is the author of the book I am reading why did you go there? “. I met you. Your book sounds amazing. I am on amazon now. many thanks Bev

  3. rogerjhardy says:

    Hi Bev, Nice to get some feedback…I hope you enjoy it!

  4. Anita says:

    I am Beverley’s friend (above) who went to Carvoeiro for the 3rd time. I am reading Miracle in Carvoeiro for the 2nd time now and it’s absolutely fantastic and you can just place yourself within the writing when reading this novel. I am off now to purchase the sequel off Amazon where I certainly will be writing a review. Keep up the good work

  5. rogerjhardy says:

    Olá Anita! Glad you enjoyed it…it was fun to write. The sequel is different, more of a treasure-hunt, slightly more serious but still fun!.

    • Anita says:

      well it’s now bought, so what’s the next one after that please? am looking forward to the sequel but will finish Miracle in Carvoeiro for the 2nd time before I start the new one! You have a new fan!

  6. rogerjhardy says:

    The ext one is The Eye of Sayf-Udeen. Artcore is a prequel (rather dark, serial killer story set in Amsterdam) but that’s it! Then The Zarathustra Principle is totally different, rather gothic, historical and the latest one is Flight Into Darkness is a political thriller. See my website: http://rogerhardynovels.info/index.html. I’m still waiting for an idea for Book 6!

Leave a Reply

